Log in

Jiangsu Province - China

Jiangsu Province, China.Jiangsu Province (江苏省), located on China's eastern coastline, spans approximately 102,600 square kilometers (39,600 square miles) with a population of 78,659,903 million (2010). Jiangsu borders Shandong province to the north, Anhui to the west, East China Sea to the east, Zhejiang and Shanghai Municipality to the south, with Nanjing as its capital city.

Jiangsu Province, historically far removed from the center of Chinese civilization and a relative backwater, is currently the home to many of the world’s leading exporters of electronic equipment, chemicals, and textiles. As China's largest recipient of foreign direct investment since 2006, it boasts the the highest GDP per capita of all Chinese provinces.

Jiangsu, birthplace of Wu Culture, has been increasingly exposed to Western influence starting with the Western incursion of the rich and mercantile southern regions during the 1840s. In fact, Shanghai, originally an unremarkable little town of Jiangsu, quickly developed into a metropolis of trade, banking, and cosmopolitanism, and was split out later as an independent municipality.

Known as the land of water With low-lying plains covering 68 percent of Jiangsu Province and water covering 18 percent, most of the province stands not more than 50 metres (160 feet) above sea level. China's longest river, The Yangtze, cuts through the province in the south and reaches the East China Sea.

Jiangsu cuisine (江苏菜: Jiāngsū cài), one the Eight Culinary Traditions of Chinese cuisine, is characterised as soft, but not to the point of mushy or falling apart. Consisting of three main styles (Nanjing, Suzhou, Wuxi), Jiangsu cuisine is considered to be amongst one of the four most influential regional schools (四大菜系) that dominate the culinary heritage of China, along with Cantonese cuisine, Shandong cuisine and Sichuan cuisine. Popular dishes include: Braised spare ribs (红烧排骨hóngshāo páigǔ) - known for its melt-in-mouth texture and sweet taste, Wuxi-style xiaolongbao (无锡小笼包 Wúxī xiǎolóngbāo) - a much sweeter version as compared to the Shanghai xiaolongbao, Ji-yu soup (鲫鱼 jìyú) - Ji-yu is a type of freshwater fish. The soup is milky white.

Major Cities:
Nanjing (南京) — the capital of Jiangsu Province and capital to 6 Chinese Dynasties as well as the Republic of China.
Changshu (常熟)
Changzhou (常州)
Huai'an (淮安)
Lianyungang (连云港)
Nantong (南通) — major river port near Shanghai.
Suqian (宿迁)
Suzhou (苏州) — famous for its classic gardens, a major tourist destination.
Taizhou (泰州)
Wuxi (无锡) — industrial city near Suzhou.
Xuzhou (徐州) — Jiangsu's largest city and home of the Terracotta warriors.
Yancheng (盐城)
Yangzhou (扬州)
Zhenjiang (镇江) — a major tourist attraction for its temples and museums.

Popular Destinations:
Yangtze River (长江)
Grand Canal (大运河)
Gardens of Suzhou

Nanjing Lukou International Airport (IATA: NKG, ICAO: ZSNJ) is located 35 km south of the city center in the suburban Jiangning District. Xuzhou Airport, Yancheng Airport, and Lianyungang Airport serve as hubs in northern Jiangsu province.  Trains run from most major cities. For more information on train schedules please refer to China’s National Railway Website: http://www.12306.cn.