Log in

Liaoning Province - China

Liaoning Province, China.Liaoning (辽宁) Province, situated on the northeastern edge of the North China Plain, spans approximately 145,900 square kilometers (56,300 sq mi) with a population of 43,746,323 million (2010).    Liaoning borders Inner Mongolia to the northwest, Jilin to the northeast, North Korea to the southeast, Hebei and Bohai Sea to the south with Shenyang as its capital city.

Liaoning Province is a region of contrast.  Walled Ming Dynasty cities rub up against beach resorts in Xingcheng (兴城), which is only one of four cities in China to have complete Ming Dynasty walls.  In Dalian, once colonized by the Russians and Japanese, grand early 20th century buildings can also be found among the vast numbers of seafood restaurants, bars, and KTVs.

Major Cities:
Shenyang (沈阳) — the provincial capital city.
Dalian (大连)
Anshan (鞍山)
Benxi (本溪)
Dandong (丹东)
Fushun (抚顺)
Jinzhou (锦州)
Liaoyang (辽阳)
Lvshunkou (旅顺口区)
Chaoyang (朝阳)
Yingkou (营口)

Popular Destinations:
Benxi Shuidong National Park (本溪水洞国家公园) — a cavernous underground river filled with beautiful mountain formations including stalactites, stalagmites and stone flowers.
Jinshitan National Park (金石滩)
Qianshan National Park (千山国家公园)
Dalian Haibin - Lüshunkou National Park
Fenghuangshan National Park
Xingcheng Haibin National Park
Yalujiang National Park
Yiwulüshan National Park

There are two international airports in Liaoning Province:  Shenyang Taoxian International Airport (沈阳桃仙国际机场) (IATA: SHE, ICAO: ZYTX), and  Dalian Zhoushuizi International Airport (大连周水子国际机场) (IATA: DLC, ICAO: ZYTL).  Trains run from most major cities.  For more information on train schedules please refer to China’s National Railway Website: http://www.12306.cn.